Nonprofit Periscope

Keeping an eye on news of the sector

Sexiness is overrated.

with one comment

Nonprofit infrastructure isn’t sexy.  When I started working in it, my friends didn’t understand what I was doing.  “What cause are you working for?” they would ask, meaning well and trying to clarify.  And when I’d reply that I was working for the health of the entire nonprofit sector, they would ask, “Isn’t that a little too…meta?  Helping the helpers?”

Meta, navel-gazing…perhaps.  But as unsexy as infrastructure is, it holds the sector together. So when Rosetta described the unexpected and unfortunate struggle of Idealist.org,  I picked up the torch in the comments and am carrying it here as well.  In my comment I mentioned my concern that associations get mired in the demands of their members and become risk-averse.  Idealist isn’t an association and doesn’t pander to the center.  It simply connects people and ideas, people and opportunities, people and people.

And like Rosetta and Kevin and other nonprofit bloggers, I ask just one thing. Whether you got a job or volunteer gig from Idealist (as I did), or just peruse it for opportunities–because it’s full of them–you can help save it.  Donate to Idealist. Blog and tweet about it.  Don’t let one of the beacons of 21st-century infrastructure crumble; our sector will be worse off without it.  And I’m not sure we can handle that right now.

Written by eclawson

January 31, 2010 at 10:02 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on this and connect the dots between every nonprofiteer’s fondness for Idealist, its utility for the sector, and the larger issue that Rosetta Thurman aptly raised on the challenge of infrastructure organizations.

    I hope we’ll continue to see the outpouring of support, and also some exciting revelations about the future of sustaining these important organizations.

    kgilnack

    January 31, 2010 at 10:45 PM


Leave a comment